Top white facebook2x Top white twitter2x Top white youtube2x Top white instagram2x Top white phone2x 01243 372850 Top white email2x Email us Top white search2x Basket Login
Home / News / Sailing news: 2020 winners
Home / News / Sailing news: 2020 winners

Sailing news: 2020 winners

828521 orig
Published 16:54 on 9 Feb 2021

For obvious reasons, we were not able to have our 2020 prize giving in November, but we did want to celebrate those winners that were able to race - both eSailing and on the water.

As we slowly came out of lockdown, ESSC and ESC ran some adapted racing and series and we also organised plenty of eSailing both at the Club and on the regional scene:


April - Jonny Hepworth -

May (Sunday series) - Luke Watson -

May (Saturday series) - Luke Watson -

June - Luke Watson -

November - Jonny Hepworth -

'New Normal' series (September and October 2020)

Ben Oakley (Devoti D-Zero) -

'New Normal' mini series

Wilbur Palmer Ward (Optimist) -

'Restart' series (July and August 2020)

Patrick Bonner (Laser Radial) -

Lockdown Cup (May and June 2020)

This featured sailors self-timing over a set course, and then submitting their times for calculation. The best ESC sailor came third over the series:

Patrick Marshall (RS Aero 7)


2020 Series

Two of the three points series were not completed (Tommy Hutton and Harvey Dixon), leaving just the Evening series to award the various Season's cups:

Blois Johnson (Evening series) - Simon and Sara Townsend (RS400)

The Walker Cup (top boat in the series) - Simon and Sara Townsend (RS400)

The Marker Trophy (top Laser in the series) - Michelle Frost (Laser Radial)

The Petersen Trophy (top RS400 in the series) - Simon and Sara Townsend

Cup races

Locke Trophy (short races at Sweare Deep, 1 of 5 sailed) - Patrick Bonner (Laser Radial)

Gough Cup (Ladies' race) - Jemima and Anne Lawson (RS200)

Coronation Cup (Family race, longer course) - Simon and Sara Townsend (RS400)

Coronation Mug (Family race, shorter course) - Louise Fitzroy-Stone and Susan Stewart-Fitzroy (Scow)

Joint Regatta

Jubilee Cup (Fast Fleet) - Dave Acres (RS300)

Fowley Trophy (Single-hander Fleet) - Mark Riddington, ESSC (RS Aero 7)

Inskip Cup (Medium Fleet) - Mark & Liz Rushall (RS 200)

Solo Bowl (Slow Fleet) - Kimball & Sorley Morrison, ESSC (RS Feva XL)

Junior Race Weekend

Strickland Cup (Open Fleet) - Toby Greatorex and Henry Langford (RS 200)

Mitchell Cup (RS Tera) - Thomas Jubb

Blois Johnson Cup B (Optimist) - Wilbur Palmer Ward

Maile Trophy (Top Crew) - Henry Langford

Simon Langford - Hon. Sailing Sec.

© 2021 Emsworth Sailing Club powered by Sailing Club Manager